‘Natyakalabushani’, ‘Natyashree’ Vijaya Rao

Vijaya Rao is an acclaimed performer, choreographer and composer, a former UNICEF cultural ambassador, and author with about 50 years of experience in the Indian Dance form Bharata Natyam. She has pioneered this dance form in Switzerland through her institution Nateschwara, a well-known centre of authentic Bharata Natyam.  As the most distinguished student of the renowned teacher – Shri Pathagudi S. Ramaswamy, she is the foremost torch bearer of the Cheyyur style of Bharata Natyam, a unique style characterised by its virtuosity, clarity of form and graceful expressive dance.

The Indian Classical Dance "Bharata Natyam"

Bharata Natyam is the best known classical dance style of India and has a millennium old tradition. According to the Sanskrit scripture ‘Natya Shastra’, this dance has been a stage art since very olden times. In the bhakti period during middle ages, it obtained a ritual importance in the temples of South India and finally came back as a stage art that it is today.

The Nateschwara School of Performing Indian Arts, founded in 1980 by Vijaya Rao and her husband Anton Tönz, is the only school of its kind that teaches the Cheyyur style of Bharata Natyam. The school offers Bharata Natyam dance classes for Beginners, Abhinaya courses, Advanced courses and Teacher training courses and caters to both adults and children, living in and outside Switzerland.

Other Classes

Music Classes

The Nateschwara Academy offers Carnatic vocal(singing), Mridangam, Nattvangam & Gottuvadhyam courses. The Mridangam is taught in Palghat Mani Iyer style.

Yoga & Meditation

The Nateschwara Academy offers Beginners Yoga, Advanced Yoga & Meditation classes, in addition to Meditation-teacher training, yoga seminars and meditation retreats.

Language Classes

The Nateschwara Academy offers courses in three Indian languages - Sanskrit language, Sanskrit recitation, Hindi & Conversational Hindi and Kannada for both adults and kids.

Dance Company, Auditorium & Events

A look at the profile of the star students of the Nateschwara Academy

The Nateschwara Auditorium is the first Indian art stage in Europe.

Bharatanatyam, Yoga & Ayurveda Workshops, Dance Events and Concerts.

„Natyakalabushani“, „Natyashree“ Vijaya Rao

Vijaya Rao ist eine gefeierte indische Tänzerin, Choreographin, Komponistin und Lehrmeisterin. Sie war Kulturbotschafterin der UNICEF, ist Autorin des Buches  „Abbild des Göttlichen“, und besitzt 50 Jahre Erfahrung im klassischen indischen Tanz Bharata Natyam. Sie ist eine Pionierin der indischen Tanzkunst in der Schweiz und in Europa, und leitet seit 1980 die Nateschwara School of Performing Indian Arts in Baden, ein über die Landesgrenzen hinaus bekanntes Zentrum für authentische indische Tanz und Musikkunst. Als herausragende Schülerin des renommierten Bharata Natyam-Meisters Shri Pathagudi S. Ramaswamy ist sie die Fackelträgerin des einzigartigen Cheyyur Bharata Natyam-Stils, der charakteristisch ist für seine Virtuosität, seine Klarheit in der Form der Bewegungen, seine Ausdruckskraft und sein Liebreiz im Tanzschauspiel.

Der indische klassische Tanz „Bharata Natyam“

Bharata Natyam ist der bekannteste klassische Tanzstil Indiens und hat eine jahrtausendealte Tradition. Nach der Sanskrit-Schrift „Natya Shastra“ war dieser Tanz in alter Zeit eine Bühnenkunst. In der Bhakti-Zeit im Mittelalter erlangte er eine rituelle Bedeutung in den Tempeln Südindiens und kam schließlich als Bühnenkunst zurück, die er heute ist.

Die Nateschwara School of Performing Indian Arts, 1980 von Vijaya Rao und ihrem Ehemann Anton Tönz gegründet, ist die einzige Schule dieser Art, die den Cheyyur Bharata Natyam-Stil unterrichtet. Die Schule bietet Bharata Natyam-Tanzkurse für Anfänger, Abhinaya-Kurse, Fortgeschrittenenkurse und Lehrerausbildungskurse an und richtet sich sowohl an Erwachsene als auch an Kinder und Personen mit Wohnsitz außerhalb der Schweiz.

Andere Klassen

Musik & Perkussion

Die Nateschwara Academy bietet Kurse für Karnatische Vokale (Gesang), Mridangam, Nattuvangam und Gottuvadhyam an. Das Mridangam wird im Palghat Mani Iyer-Stil unterrichtet.

Yoga & Meditation

Die Nateschwara Academy bietet Yoga für Anfänger, Yoga für Fortgeschrittene und Meditationskurse sowie eine Ausbildung zum Meditationslehrer, Yogaseminare und Meditationsretreats an.

Indische Sprachen

Die Nateschwara Academy bietet Kurse in drei indischen Sprachen an - Sanskrit, Sanskrit-Rezitation, Hindi & Conversational Hindi und Kannada für Erwachsene und Kinder.

Dance Company, Auditorium & Events

Ein Blick auf das Profil der Star-Studenten der Nateschwara Academy

Das Nateschwara Auditorium ist die erste indische Kunstbühne in Europa.

Bharatanatyam, Yoga & Ayurveda Workshops, Tanzveranstaltungen und Konzerte.